Vice-President, Osinbajo, Ex-Speaker Dogara Kicked Out Of Ruling APC Tinubu/Shettima’s Campaign Council

Bola Tinubu and Kashim Shettima’s All Progressives Congress presidential campaign council, whose members were made public on Friday, did not include Vice President Prof. Yemi Osinbajo or former House Speaker Yakubu Dogara.

Dogara has criticized Tinubu’s Muslim-Muslim ticket, claiming that northern Christians have been marginalized in the party’s overall strategy despite Osinbajo being his running mate for president in June.

The camp of Osinbajo had distanced itself from the former Lagos governor after his emergence as winner of the APC presidential ticket, while Dogara had remained a perennial thorn in Tinubu’s flesh for selecting ex-Borno Governor Senator Kashim Shettima, a fellow Muslim, as running mate.

Dogara had predicted on Tuesday that the adoption of a Muslim-Muslim ticket was a fruitless political effort that was “doomed to end in spectacular failure.”

The ex-speaker made the statement while delivering his keynote address at a summit tagged “Meet The Church,” organized by the Nigeria National Christian Coalition.

SaharaReporters earlier reported that Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, and former Transportation Minister, Amaechi, were not appointed into key roles in their regions and were only added to the council as senior adviser and member, respectively.

A statement on Friday by the secretary to the council, James Faleke, read, “We are pleased to announce the nominees for the leadership of the APC Presidential Campaign Council, as per enclosed.” All nominees are kindly advised to pick up their appointment letters from the undersigned on Monday, September 26, 2022 at 12 noon.

“The venue is the Tinubu-Shettima Presidential Campaign Council on Plot 781, Herbert Macaulay Way, Central Area Abuja. All other members will be contacted by the leaders of their respective directorates. ”

The 422-man list has the names of political heavyweights, including APC governors, ministers, lawmakers, and ambassadors, as well as serving and past public office holders.

In the latest list released by the Presidential Campaign Council Secretary, James Faleke, in Abuja on Friday night, Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong, retained his position as Director-General, just as Deputy Director-General (Operations), Adams Oshiomhole, and Director of Media and Publicity, Bayo Onanuga.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button