JUST IN: Drama As 8 Ex-Chairmen Dump PDP, Defect To APC Ahead Of Edo Election (FULL LIST)

Eight former local government chairmen of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Edo State have switched their allegiance to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in anticipation of the September 21 governorship election.

The defectors, who previously served under the banner of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), have now declared their support for the APC and its gubernatorial candidate, Senator Monday Okpebholo.

Among those who have defected are John Osi Akhigbe (Etsako Central), Dr. Josie Ogedegbe (Igueben), Frank Ilaboya (Owan West), Andrew Osigwe (Owan East), Napoleon Agbama (Uhunmwonde), Scott Ogbemudia (Ovia Northeast), Austin Okoibhole (Esan Northeast), and Mrs. Ruth Osahor (Esan West).

These former chairmen had previously joined the PDP alongside Governor Godwin Obaseki on June 19, 2020, ahead of the September 19, 2020 governorship election. However, they have now returned to the APC fold.

They were formally received at the Benin residence of the APC leader in Edo, Senator Adams Oshiomhole. Senator Oshiomhole, along with Okpebholo, his running mate Dennis Idahosa, and Acting APC chairman in the state, Jarret Tenebe, welcomed the defectors.

Senator Oshiomhole expressed his gratitude for their return, stating, “I am excited that these young politicians have chosen to return home, and we have all resolved to receive them, as if they never left before, and they will enjoy all rights and privileges that members of APC enjoy.”

He urged the defectors and other supporters of democracy and good governance to throw their weight behind Okpebholo and Idahosa for the upcoming election, emphasizing the need for a transparent and fair electoral process.

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Ilaboya described their move as a homecoming, affirming their commitment to Oshiomhole’s vision and the progressive politics of the APC.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button