INEC Declares Sanwo-Olu Winner Of Lagos Governorship Election

In Lagos State, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has been proclaimed the victor by the Independent National Election Commission, or INEC.

Sanwo-Olu of the All Progressives Congress, APC, defeated Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party with a total vote total of 762,134.

Abdulazeez Adeniran of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, received 62,449 votes, while the candidate for the LP received 312,329 votes.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Adenike Temifayo-Oladiji, Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Technology Akure, FUTA, announced the results.

The number of valid votes were 1,155,678; rejected votes – 17,953; total votes cast – 1,173,631; accredited votes – 1,182,620.

Before the declaration, Rhodes-Vivour called the election a sham, alleging “collusion between the ruling party and electoral officials”.

The flagbearer said what the people witnessed was “a slap on the face of democracy” and everyone who came out to vote for the LP on Saturday.

“In the light of this, I am convinced beyond any doubt that the results being released by INEC do not represent the wishes of the majority of peaceful Lagosians.

“More so the results from our field agents and situation room indicated that we won this election,” Rhodes-Vivour added.

LP Chairman in Lagos, Mrs. Dayo Ekong had asked INEC to cancel the poll, citing electoral malpractices, intimidation, violence, among others.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button