Van Dijk, Sterling win PFA awards

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk and Arsenal forward, Vivianne Miedema, have won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year awards for 2018/2019.

Van Dijk, 27, beat Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane and Eden Hazard in the vote by his fellow players.

Miedema, 22, beat Steph Houghton, Nikita Parris, Keira Walsh, Erin Cuthbert and Ji So-Yun to win the award.

However, Manchester City forward Sterling, won the men’s young player prize.

City also provided winners for two other awards, with England forward Georgia Stanway claiming the women’s young player prize and England captain Houghton receiving the PFA Special Achievement award.

Van Dijk succeeds Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah, who won for 2017/2018 and is the first defender to take the award since Chelsea centre-back John Terry in 2005

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button