National News

President Buhari Regime Inaugurates 23-member EFCC Board

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has a 23-member governing board, according to President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration.

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, asked members to bring their best efforts to bear in tackling financial and economic crimes in Nigeria when he inaugurated the board on Thursday in Abuja.

He said, “The board members are creations of the enabling statutes of the various institutions, with the main responsibility of giving policy direction to the commission’s management.”

EFCC Chairman, AbdulRasheed Bawa, who is also the chairman of the board, disclosed that the commission had been without a board for six years sequel to series of events that warranted its non-existence.

He said the board would help the EFCC spearhead the policy direction on the huge challenges it was currently facing in fighting crimes in the country.

He said, “EFCC has managed to set a new record in terms of recovery as well as conviction. Last year alone, we recorded 2,220 convictions, which were the highest ever recorded within one calendar year by EFCC.”

Members of the board include Luqman Muhammad, Anumba Adaeze, Alhaji Kola Raheem Adesina, and Alhaji Yahaya Muhammad.

Institutional representatives are Haruna Nuhu Koko (DSS), Reginald Chukwudi Karawusa (Security and Exchange Commission), Pius Agboola (National Insurance Commission), Salisu Abdu (Nigerian Communications Commission), Nwakaego Celine Nwajei (Nigerian Postal Service), Justine Nidiya (Corporate Affairs Commission), U.G Mohammed (Nigeria Customs Service), Muhammed Aminu Muhammed (Nigerian Immigration Service), Umar Maman Sanda (Nigeria Police Force), Emmanuel Andrew Naman (National Intelligence Agency) and Ibrahim Abdul (National Drug Law Enforcement Agency).

Others are Gabriel Christopher (Federal Ministry of Finance), Adamu Shaibu (Ministry of Foreign Affairs), Jeremiah Abue (Central Bank of Nigeria), Galadima Yusufari Gana (Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation); while a representative of the Ministry of Justice, George Abang Ekpungu, is the secretary to the board.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button