Kogi Governor, Bello Angrily Storms Out Of APC Governors’ Meeting After Being Told To Withdraw From Presidential Race

In his desperate bid for the presidency in 2023, Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State threw caution to the wind and walked out on his ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) colleagues during a meeting in Abuja on Monday.

The conference was held as part of the preparations for the presidential primary and to finalize plans to elect a consensus presidential candidate – as previously agreed – from the Southern region.

Governor Bello rushed out of the meeting furiously when he was requested to withdraw from the competition for a southern region candidate, according to SaharaReporters.

“Governor Yahaya Bello angrily walked out of the meeting called by the APC governors. He was asked to back out of the race to pave the way for the southern region candidate or aspirant from the southern region,” a top source in the meeting revealed.

In a fresh twist, the National Chairman of the party, Abdullahi Adamu, announced Senate President Ahmed Lawan as the consensus presidential candidate of the party.

Adamu made the announcement at the meeting of the National Working Committee (NWC) on Monday in Abuja.

His adoption of Lawan as the consensus candidate is against the position of 11 APC northern Governors, who endorsed that power must shift to the South after President Muhammadu Buhari’s tenure.

Adamu told the National Working Committee that he arrived at the choice of the Senate President after consultation with President Muhammadu Buhari.

Earlier, Buhari was reported to have held a closed-door meeting with governors of the All Progressives Congress, APC, from the north at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

This comes amid preparations for the party’s convention to elect its presidential candidate for the 2023 general elections.

Although President Buhari has maintained his position on the consensus arrangement, there has not been any agreement among the 23 presidential aspirants.

The governors in attendance were the Chairman of Progressive Governors Forum and governor of Kebbi State, Atiku Bagudu, chairman of Northern governors Forum and governors of Plateau State, Simeon Lalong, Abubakar Baduru (Jigawa) and Babagana Zulum (Borno).

Others were; Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Bello Matawale (Zamfara), Mallam Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Yahaya Inuwa (Gombe), Abubakar Bello (Niger), and the Yobe State governor, Mai Mala Buni.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button