INEC Declares Oyebanji Ekiti Gov-elect

Mr. Biodun Oyebanji, a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has been proclaimed the winner of the Ekiti governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Oyetola won the election with 187,058 votes, while the Social Democratic Party’s (SDP) standard bearer, Engr. Segun Oni, came in second with 82, 211 votes.

Otuba Bisi Kolawole of the People Democratic Party (PDP) placed in third place with 67,457 votes.

While Oyebanji won by a landslide in 15 local government areas, Kolawole won the Efon local government, where he was born.

Ado, Ekiti west, Gbonyin, Ijero, Ikole, Ikere, Ado, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ilejemeje, Ido/Osi, and Moba were all cleared by the APC. The local government areas of Ekiti Southwest, Oye, Emure, Ise/Orun, and Ekiti East are among the others.

Announcing the results at the early hours of Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Kayode Adebowale, said the APC candidate ,Oyebanji, scored the highest number of votes to win the election.

Prof. Adebowale, who is also the Vice Chancellor, University of Ibadan, said the total number of accredited voters in the state was 989,224, 351,865 while total votes cast was 360,753,

Declaring the winner, Prof. Adebowale said ” That Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji of the All Progressive Congress, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”.

According to the results, the 16 political parties that participated in the exercise polled the following votes. A (166); AAC (409); ADC (5597); ADP (3495), APGA (376); APM (290); APP (1980); LP (195); NNDP (529); NRM (347); PDP (67457); PRP (856); SDP (82,211), YPP, (618) and ZLP (282).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button